Test yourself

Fill in the gaps in the text below with the given words. You may paste and copy them.
compensations; vested; appointed; Legislative; Executive; unconstitutional; Judicial; amend; pass; Judiciary; balances; Executive; veto; Legislature;

In the USA the three branches of power are created in the Constitution.
The (1 p.) , composed of the House of Representatives and the Senate, is set up in Article 1. (1 p.) power is vested in the Congress of the United Sates. The Congress has the exclusive power to legislate, to make laws and in addition to these it has all other powers vested in the government by the Constitution.

The (1 p.) , composed of the President, the Vice-President, and the Departments, is set up in Article 2. (1 p.) power is vested in the President. The principal responsibility of the President is to take care that the laws be faithfully executed.

The (1 p.) , composed of the federal courts and the Supreme Court, is set up in Article 3. (1 p.) power — the power to decide cases and controversies—is (1 p.) in the Supreme Court and inferior courts established by the Congress. The judges must be (1 p.) by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate, hold office for life and receive (1 p.) that may not be reduced during their continuance in office.

Each of these branches has certain powers, and each of these powers is limited, or checked, by another branch. The three branches should not be too far separated and should have constitutional control over each other. In the US the system of "checks and (1 p.) " is designed to allow each branch to restrain abuse by each other branch. It prevents one branch from becoming supreme, and induces the branches to cooperate.

For example, the President appoints judges and departmental secretaries. But these appointments must be approved by the Senate. The Congress can (1 p.) a law, but the President can (1 p.) it. The Supreme Court can rule a law to be (1 p.) , but the Congress, with the States, can (1 p.) the Constitution.